- Good Sam Club News - http://blog.goodsamclub.com -

Do It YOURSELF: Installing Day/Night Shades

Posted By Good Sam On June 24, 2011 @ 11:58 am In Travel Tips | 8 Comments

[Facebook] [1] [Google] [2] [Twitter] [3]

Replacing noisy window blinds or worn curtains with easy-operating Day/Night Shades [4] is a simple way to improve the look of your RV interior and to control light and privacy.

[5]Measuring

The key is to measure correctly when ordering your Shades. Here’s a step-by-step guide to make it easy. All you’ll need is a measuring tape.

Step 1: Determine if the Shade will mount on the wall outside the window frame (outside mount) or inside the window frame (inside mount). Most RV windows will be outside mount installations.

Step 2: For outside mount installations, measure the width (across) of the area to be covered, typically from the end of the window frame to the opposite end of the window frame plus 2″ for additional coverage. For inside mount installation, measure the exact opening size; the factory will make any necessary adjustments from your exact measurements to allow for inside clearance and easy operation.

Step 3: Measure the length of the area to be covered (drop). Typically this is from the top of the window frame to the bottom of the window frame with an additional 2″ for mounting above and below the window.

Installing

Once your new Day/Night Shades [4] arrive, installing them is a job that a handy RV owner can do, using basic tools. For this project, you’ll need a measuring tape, pencil, handheld electric drill and a Phillips screwdriver. Before drilling to mount brackets, always check the wall thickness. You don’t want to drill all the way through wall and exterior sidewall by mistake!

Step 1: Install the mounting brackets above the top of the window frame using the drill and screwdriver. Mount the brackets about 3″ in from the corner of the window frame. On shades 40″ wide or wider, use three mounting brackets, with one in the center. Use the measuring tape and pencil to find and mark the center point between the two end mounting brackets.

Step 2: Install the head rail into the mounting brackets by tilting the front of the head rail upward. Slide the hook of the mounting bracket into the groove of the head rail. Push the back of the head rail upward until it snaps into place.

Step 3: Release the cord locks to lower the shade. Day/Night Shades [4] have two cord locks; Day Only or Night Only Shades have one cord lock.

Recent Posts By Good Sam


Article printed from Good Sam Club News: http://blog.goodsamclub.com

URL to article: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2011/06/diyinstalldaynightshades/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2011%2F06%2Fdiyinstalldaynightshades%2F

[2] Image: http://www.google.com/bookmarks/mark?op=edit&output=popup&bkmk=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2011%2F06%2Fdiyinstalldaynightshades%2F&title=Do+It+YOURSELF%3A+Installing+Day%2FNight+Shades

[3] Image: http://www.twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2011%2F06%2Fdiyinstalldaynightshades%2F&text=Do+It+YOURSELF%3A+Installing+Day%2FNight+Shades

[4] Day/Night Shades: http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/custom-made-daynight-shades/1869d

[5] Image: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/DayNightShades2.jpg

[6] Satellite Radio Antenna: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/satellite-radio-antenna/

[7] Member Tip: Secure Sliding Doors: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2011/10/membertip-3/

[8] Keep Bugs Out of Your RV: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/06/keep-bugs-out-of-your-rv-2/

[9] Service Contract Cancellation: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/12/service-contract-cancellation/

[10] Refrigerator Repair Repeat: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/11/refrigerator-repair-repeat/

[11] Peeling Decal: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/peeling-decal/

[12] GOOD SAM RV PARKING RIGHTS COUNCIL NOTIFICATION: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/good-sam-rv-parking-rights-southington-ct/

[13] Unsupported Mattress: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/unsupported-mattress/

Copyright © 2010 Good Sam Club. All rights reserved.