- Good Sam Club News - http://blog.goodsamclub.com -

Hot Feet

Posted By Good Sam On July 10, 2012 @ 10:58 am In Tech Tips | 1 Comment

[Facebook] [1] [Google] [2] [Twitter] [3]

Hot Feet
This must be a common problem and I know someone out there knows how to fix it. I have a 2006 Fleetwood Tioga 30U on a Ford E-450 chassis. On my first trip on a warm day—the temperature was in the 70s—the engine compartment got so hot it seemed I could have fried an egg on it. My feet were burning up and looked like boiled lobsters by the time I got home. The cab air conditioning only comes out at the dash and not on the floor, so no help there.

I took the RV to the local Ford dealer with my complaint and I was told that everything was as it should be around the engine compartment and that nothing could be done. I want to enjoy driving my new rig but what will it be like on a 90-degree day?
Bev Herman
Chester, California

Bob: Bev, the floor and lower portion of the engine compartment cover tend to run warm on these chassis. Most are not as hot as yours, but this area can get pretty warm. You can try adding insulation under the engine-access cover and floor, but make sure the material can take the exposure to the elements and is designed for extreme heat.

Some owners have experienced success by installing cold-air ducting, channeling air from the front of the engine compartment to the hot spots under the floor and cover. You have to use ducting that can handle the heat. Care must be taken when routing this ducting, so leave it to experienced technicians if you are not sure of your capabilities.

You can also replace the stock exhaust manifolds with headers, which tend to run cooler. You’ll also get the benefit of increased performance and possible improved mileage.

Recent Posts By Good Sam


Article printed from Good Sam Club News: http://blog.goodsamclub.com

URL to article: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/hot-feet/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2012%2F07%2Fhot-feet%2F

[2] Image: http://www.google.com/bookmarks/mark?op=edit&output=popup&bkmk=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2012%2F07%2Fhot-feet%2F&title=Hot+Feet

[3] Image: http://www.twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2012%2F07%2Fhot-feet%2F&text=Hot+Feet

[4] RV Horse Sense: Stop Feeding Horses that Aren’t Working: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2013/07/rv-horse-sense-stop-feeding-horses-that-arent-working/

[5] Save on Fuel Expenses: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2011/04/save-on-fuel-expenses/

[6] Sam Alert: Attention, Fleetwood Bounder RV Owners!: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2011/06/fleetwoodbounder/

[7] Refrigerator Repair Repeat: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/11/refrigerator-repair-repeat/

[8] Peeling Decal: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/peeling-decal/

[9] GOOD SAM RV PARKING RIGHTS COUNCIL NOTIFICATION: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/good-sam-rv-parking-rights-southington-ct/

[10] Unsupported Mattress: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/unsupported-mattress/

[11] GOOD SAM RV PARKING RIGHTS COUNCIL NOTIFICATION: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/08/good-sam-rv-parking-rights-council-notification/

Copyright © 2010 Good Sam Club. All rights reserved.