- Good Sam Club News - http://blog.goodsamclub.com -

Water-Pressure Fallacy

Posted By Good Sam On July 10, 2012 @ 11:46 am In Tech Tips | 7 Comments

[Facebook] [1] [Google] [2] [Twitter] [3]

[4]Water-Pressure Fallacy

For the sake of Highways readers, please explain that leaving the campground-water supply valve partially open does not keep the pressure lower in the RV. It only affects the volume.

Many people in the campgrounds think they can get by without the pressure-reducing valve (PRV) if they open the valve only part way. Doing that only changes flow, but with everything off in the unit the pressure builds to campground pressure in the lines in the unit. The PRV should always be used, and installed at the campground spigot so the supply hose and the RV are at a safely maintained pressure.

I am a retired plumber and live full time in our RV. We do some work-camping, and have had many people doing this, thinking they are protecting the plumbing in their recreational vehicle.

Jim Kooima
Sioux Falls, SD

Bob: Consider it done, Jim. Thank you for your insights.

Recent Posts By Good Sam


Article printed from Good Sam Club News: http://blog.goodsamclub.com

URL to article: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/water-pressure-fallacy/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2012%2F07%2Fwater-pressure-fallacy%2F

[2] Image: http://www.google.com/bookmarks/mark?op=edit&output=popup&bkmk=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2012%2F07%2Fwater-pressure-fallacy%2F&title=Water-Pressure+Fallacy

[3] Image: http://www.twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2012%2F07%2Fwater-pressure-fallacy%2F&text=Water-Pressure+Fallacy

[4] Image: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/bob3.png

[5] Updating and Maintaining Your RV Freshwater: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2013/01/updating-and-maintaining-your-rv-freshwater/

[6] Slow LP-Gas Fill: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/slow-lp-gas-fill/

[7] Proper Etiquette: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/proper-etiquette/

[8] Refrigerator Repair Repeat: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/11/refrigerator-repair-repeat/

[9] Peeling Decal: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/peeling-decal/

[10] GOOD SAM RV PARKING RIGHTS COUNCIL NOTIFICATION: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/good-sam-rv-parking-rights-southington-ct/

[11] Unsupported Mattress: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/unsupported-mattress/

[12] GOOD SAM RV PARKING RIGHTS COUNCIL NOTIFICATION: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/08/good-sam-rv-parking-rights-council-notification/

Copyright © 2010 Good Sam Club. All rights reserved.