- Good Sam Club News - http://blog.goodsamclub.com -

Keeping Chassis Batteries Charged

Posted By Good Sam Camping Team On March 1, 2014 @ 12:01 am In RV Community,RV Tips,Tech Tips | No Comments

[Facebook] [1] [Google] [2] [Twitter] [3]

battery jumper cable mod copy [4]

Check out this inspired solution from an experienced RVer:

I keep our motorhome plugged in when it’s not being used so the three-stage inverter/charger can maintain the house batteries charge. This works fine, but when I cover the coach, the solar panel for charging the chassis batteries doesn’t work very well. To fix this problem, I put a short jumper cable between the 12-volt positive terminal of the house batteries and the 12-volt positive terminal of the chassis batteries. I made the jumper using two car battery clips connected with paralleled 10-gauge insulated wires.

Now all batteries stay charged. I put a labeled clothes-pin on the steering wheel to remind me to remove the jumper when the motorhome is put back in service.

James Kohls, Belmont, Michigan

Recent Posts By Good Sam Camping Team


Article printed from Good Sam Club News: http://blog.goodsamclub.com

URL to article: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/03/battery-tips-for-rvers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2014%2F03%2Fbattery-tips-for-rvers%2F

[2] Image: http://www.google.com/bookmarks/mark?op=edit&output=popup&bkmk=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2014%2F03%2Fbattery-tips-for-rvers%2F&title=Keeping+Chassis+Batteries+Charged

[3] Image: http://www.twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2014%2F03%2Fbattery-tips-for-rvers%2F&text=Keeping+Chassis+Batteries+Charged

[4] Image: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/battery-jumper-cable-mod-copy.jpg

[5] Ask The RV Doctor – 6-Volt Charging: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2013/06/ask-the-rv-doctor-6-volt-charging/

[6] No Battery Charging: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/no-battery-charging/

[7] Electrical Problem: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/electrical-problem/

[8] Finding a Snowbird Roost: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/finding-a-snowbird-roost/

[9] Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve: San Diego’s Best Backyard: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/santee-lakes-recreation/

[10] Blueberry Hill RV Resort in Beautiful Bushnell: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/blueberry-hill/

[11] RV Tech Tip: Cool Shades: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/cool-shades/

[12] Cal-Am Resorts Welcome Guests With Luxury: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/09/cal-am-resorts-2/

Copyright © 2010 Good Sam Club. All rights reserved.