- Good Sam Club News - http://blog.goodsamclub.com -

Tech Tips: Cheap Awning Lock

Posted By Good Sam Camping Team On June 1, 2014 @ 12:01 am In RV Tips,Tech Tips | No Comments

[Facebook] [1] [Google] [2] [Twitter] [3]

Cheap Awning Lock [4]While bucking a strong headwind on Wyoming’s Interstate 80, my trailer’s awning billowed out, resulting in a $100 awning-repair bill. After reviewing the $40-$50 awning locks on the market, I devised an effective, cheaper solution—a $3 gate latch from the local hardware store. With the extended latch pin positioned in the end-cap hole, I drilled four holes in the awning arm and mounted the latch with four 1⁄8 × 1⁄2-inch screws. When the latch is in the closed position, the awning roller can’t turn, so the awning stays tightly shut. A short twist-tie prevents the latch from opening accidentally.

Vern Dalke, La Mirada, California

Recent Posts By Good Sam Camping Team


Article printed from Good Sam Club News: http://blog.goodsamclub.com

URL to article: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/06/tech-tips-cheap-awning-lock/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2014%2F06%2Ftech-tips-cheap-awning-lock%2F

[2] Image: http://www.google.com/bookmarks/mark?op=edit&output=popup&bkmk=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2014%2F06%2Ftech-tips-cheap-awning-lock%2F&title=Tech+Tips%3A+Cheap+Awning+Lock

[3] Image: http://www.twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.goodsamclub.com%2F2014%2F06%2Ftech-tips-cheap-awning-lock%2F&text=Tech+Tips%3A+Cheap+Awning+Lock

[4] Image: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/Cheap-Awning-Lock.jpg

[5] Keep Your Awning Clean: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/07/keep-your-awning-clean/

[6] Add Outdoor Living Space to Your RV: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2012/12/add-outdoor-living-space-to-your-rv/

[7] Notes From the Shop – Spring Cleaning Your RV: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2013/04/notes-from-the-shop-spring-cleaning-your-rv/

[8] Tennesee's River Plantation RV Park: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/11/river-plantation/

[9] Experience the Ultimate Golfer’s Paradise: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/11/golfers-paradise/

[10] Tech Tip: Switch Fix: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/11/tech-tip-switch-fix/

[11] Finding a Snowbird Roost: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/finding-a-snowbird-roost/

[12] Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve: San Diego’s Best Backyard: http://blog.goodsamclub.com/2014/10/santee-lakes-recreation/

Copyright © 2010 Good Sam Club. All rights reserved.